Order of the NWT Summary of 2015 Recipients

Mr. Gino Pin

Mr. Pin is resident of Yellowknife and is being nominated for his work in **professions and other** occupations.

Mr. Pin is an architect who has been living, designing and building in Canada's North for more than 35 years. He founded his firm in 1983 and has been a leader in unique designs, responding to traditional needs and serving northern lifestyles. Mr. Pin has received many design awards, including the CMHC 1994 Concept Design Award and was Up Here Magazine's "Northerner of the Year" in 2002. He was a recipient of a research grant in 1997 for the study of Native Northern Communities and is co-author of Health Housing in the North: Towards a Northern Health Housing Demonstration Project. His creative approach to all his projects make his finished products distinctive and recognizable, from the many houses throughout the North to large public projects such as the Legislative Assembly Building. Mr. Pin continues to contribute to the well-being of the NWT in his semi-retirement as a founding member of a coalition of concerned citizens of Yellowknife.

Mrs. Lucy Jackson

Mrs. Jackson is a resident of Fort Good Hope and is being nominated for her work in **arts and culture**, **communications**, **Community leadership**, **education**, **public service and volunteer services**.

Mrs. Jackson is a dedicated member of the local church society, serves the public as a spiritual leader, traditional woman and North Slavey translator for local boards and organizations. She is known for her strong traditional knowledge, her belief in traditional lifestyles and dedication to her Community. Most recently, Mrs. Jackson has been working on medical terminology for aboriginal languages with the department of Health and Social Services, Aboriginal Health and Community Wellness and is a Justice of the Peace.

Mr. Sonny MacDonald

Mr. MacDonald is a resident of Fort Smith and is being nominated for his work in arts and culture.

Mr. MacDonald is a self-taught artist who began carving at a very young age. He is a former council member of Salt River First Nation, NWT Aboriginal Representative to the Mackenzie River Basin Board, is past Chairman of the NWT Arts Council and past co-chairman of the NWT Arts Strategy Advisory Panel. Mr. MacDonald represented the NWT at the Canadian Public Arts Funders Network and teaches courses in carving and cultural programs in NWT schools. He is passionate about the development of young artists and dedicated to ensuring the growth and sustained health of an artistic community.

Mrs. Ruth Spence

Mrs. Spence is a resident of Yellowknife and is being nominated for her work in **Community leadership**.

Mrs. Spence has been a community activist and organizer in the North since her arrival in Yellowknife in 1964. She served for nearly 20 years as Executive Director of the YWCA, was elected to multiple terms on Yellowknife City Council, was a member and Chair of the Hospital Board, President of the Consumer's Association of Canada NWT Branch and President of the NWT and Western Arctic Liberal Association. She also volunteered with Girl Guides, Yellowknife Figure Skating Club and was a founding member of the Yellowknife Ski Club. In 1966, the YWCA opened a small facility for girls travelling from Communities across the NWT. The "Y" under Mrs. Spence direction was able to establish summer day camps, day care centres and after school programs for children and provide a safe, caring and nurturing place for young women. She was a tireless champion for the rights of women and children and pioneered a number of institutions and programs that continue to provide services to Northerners.

Mr. Bruce Green

Mr. Green is a resident of Hay River and is being nominated for his work in arts and culture, community leadership, education, environmental, science and technology, sports and recreation and volunteer services.

Mr. Green moved to Hay River in 1974 and began teaching primary level science at Camsell St. Paul School. He later moved to Diamond Jenness Secondary School to teach high school science, where he remained until his retirement in 2002. Following retirement, Mr. Green taught at the Chief Sunrise Adult

Learning Centre on the K'atlodeechee Reserve. He contributed to creating the "Resource Manual of Practical Ideas" developed to include traditional and cultural learning in science curriculum at the primary level. He has received the Hilroy Scholarship Award for Innovative Teaching and Programs twice, has been recognized as citizen of the year in Hay River and most recently was inducted into the Teacher's Hall of Fame for the NWT. He continues to volunteer and organize events and gatherings such as the Christmas Bird Count, Beaver Watching, Owling, Search for Fossils and many other educational programs.

Mr. John B. Zoe

Mr. Zoe is a resident of Behchokò and is being nominated for his work in **Self Government Northern Development**.

Mr. Zoe became the Chief Negotiator for the Dogrib in 1992 to settle a Land Claim and Self Government Agreement through negotiations with the Government of Canada and the NWT. John B. is now a senior advisor for the Tłլchǫ Government. He has an Honourary Doctor of Laws from the University of Alberta in recognition of his work in projects that are built upon a foundation of Tłլchǫ language, culture and way of life. His own publications include articles on Dogrib ethno archaeology and place names, Dogrib sacred sites, and the history of settlement types and traditional architecture. John B. was also elected as a Fellow of the Arctic Institute of Northern America.