About the Legislative Assembly

The Legislative Assembly is the seat of elected government in the Northwest Territories. Members are elected every four years from each of 19 ridings to serve in a unique consensus government that is studied and admired the world over. It is essentially a parliament led by a permanent minority; members elect seven Cabinet ministers and a Speaker from their own ranks.

As one of Canada’s youngest legislatures, the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories changed frequently in its early years. Members were added and the Assembly’s responsibilities grew, but it was without a permanent home until 1993 when the current building was completed in Yellowknife. It has become a landmark and a symbol of a stable, responsible government that is close to the people it serves: the average riding has just over 2,300 residents.


Legislative Assembly building on Frame Lake in Yellowknife