The Speaker

The Speaker, elected in a secret ballot by all Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLA), leads debates and ensures adherence to established rules and procedures. 

The election of the Speaker kicks off each new parliament and is accessible to all MLAs except cabinet ministers. It occurs on the first sitting day post-general election or in case of Speaker resignation, retirement, or passing. 

Without a Speaker, the Assembly's proceedings stall until a replacement is elected. The Clerk of the Legislative Assembly oversees this election.

An impartial position, the Speaker ensures fair treatment of all MLAs, voting only in tie-break scenarios. The Speaker represents the Legislative Assembly, all MLAs must accept the Speaker’s authority within the Assembly.