Members of the Legislative Assembly

Members of the Legislative Assembly, or MLAs, are elected to represent one of 19 districts of the Northwest Territories called ridings or constituencies. MLAs represent their constituents at the territorial level.

MLAs help create and amend laws, act as spokespeople for their constituents, and help solve problems. It is the duty of an MLA to represent everyone in his or her riding, regardless of how they voted.

When they take office, MLAs swear a statutory oath. They are also bound to follow the Members’ Conduct Guidelines.