Order of The Northwest Territories

The Order of the Northwest Territories is how our territory honours people who have made extraordinary contributions to the North.

Since it’s creation in 2013, more than 30 people have received this award. The award recognizes outstanding contributions or achievements of residents or former residents of the NWT. Up to three are awarded each year.


Do you know a role model whose achievements stand above the rest? From volunteers to scientists, teachers, leaders, or even your next-door neighbours, all residents or former residents of the NWT are eligible to be appointed to the Order. 

Nominations are now closed.

Advisory Council

The NWT Honours Advisory Council is established by the Legislative Assembly to review nominations to the Order. Current council members are: Danny Gaudet, Chair; Sabrina Broadhead; Ann Peters; Jane Arychuk; and Denise MacDonald.