Order of the Northwest Territories Induction Ceremony


The Order of the Northwest Territories Honours Advisory Council is pleased to announce the 2021 recipients of the Order of the Northwest Territories as: 

  • Mrs. JoAnne Deneron of Fort Liard 
  • Mr. Paul Kaeser II of Fort Smith 
  • Mrs. Mary Effie Snowshoe of Fort McPherson 

The Order of the Northwest Territories, established in 2013 by the Territorial Emblems and Honours Act, recognizes individuals who have served with the greatest distinction and excelled in any field of endeavour benefiting the people of the NWT or elsewhere. It is the highest honour awarded to NWT residents. A member of the Order can wear the insignia of the Order as a decoration and use the initials “O.N.W.T.” after their name. 


"I’m pleased to announce the esteemed recipients of the Order of the Northwest Territories and congratulate all the recipients on their remarkable achievements." 
 - Speaker Blake, Secretary to the Honours Advisory Council  
“I am proud to recognize and honour the exceptional achievements of its recipients and extend my heartfelt congratulations to all the recipients on this well-deserved recognition."  
- Mr. Danny Gaudet, Chair of the Northwest Territories’ Honours Advisory Council 


The Induction ceremony is being held:
When: Thursday, March 30, 2023 
Where: Chamber of the Legislative Assembly 
Time: 11:00 a.m. 
The Commissioner of the Northwest Territories, the Honourable Margaret Thom, will preside over the ceremony in her role as Chancellor of the Order. 
The ceremony is open to the public and the media are welcome to attend.    
The next nomination period will be from April 21 to May 19, 2023. 
For more information, please contact:
Public Affairs and Communications 
NT Legislative Assembly