2023 Recipients of the Order of the Northwest Territories Announced

(YELLOWKNIFE) Tuesday, July 9, 2024 – The Order of the Northwest Territories Honours Advisory Council is pleased to announce the 2023 inductees of the Order of the Northwest Territories:

Mrs. Helen Balanoff formerly of Yellowknife
Ms. Mary Teya of Fort McPherson
Mr. Richard Hardy formerly of Tulita

Established in 2013 by the Territorial Emblems and Honours Act, the Order of the Northwest Territories recognizes individuals who have served with the greatest distinction and excelled in any field of endeavor benefiting the people of the NWT or elsewhere. It is the highest honour awarded to NWT residents. Members of the Order are entitled to wear the insignia of the Order and use the initials “O.N.W.T.” after their name.

The ceremony will take place in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly building in Yellowknife during the fourth sitting of the first Session of the 20th Assembly in October. The Commissioner of the Northwest Territories, the Honourable Gerald W. Kisoun, will preside over the ceremony in his role as Chancellor of the Order.

The ceremony is open to the public and the media are welcome to attend.

The next nomination period will be in the spring of 2025. Please visit the Legislative Assembly website for more information. 

For more information, please contact:
Public Affairs and Communications
Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly
P: 867-767-9130 ext. 12017
E: @email