MLA for Monfwi Resigns

YELLOWKNIFE (Friday, June 4, 2021) – Today, Mr. Jackson Lafferty resigned as the Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) for Monfwi.

In accordance with the Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act, Mr. Lafferty openly declared his decision to resign in the Chamber while the House was in Session. The Acting Clerk noted the decision in the records of the Legislative Assembly and the seat of the Member immediately became vacant.

Mr. Lafferty was first elected to the 15th Legislative Assembly in a July 2005 by-election. He was re-elected to the 16th and 17th Assemblies in 2007 and 2011, respectively. During the 17th Legislative Assembly, Mr. Lafferty was the Deputy Premier, Minister of Education, Culture and Employment, Minister Responsible for Official Languages, and Minister Responsible for the Workers’ Safety and Compensation Commission.

Mr. Lafferty was acclaimed to the 18th Legislative Assembly in November 2015 and was elected by his peers to be the Speaker. During his time as Speaker, he increased the use of official languages at the Legislative Assembly. He was again acclaimed to the 19th Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly in October 2019.

As defined in the Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act, where the seat of a member becomes vacant for any reason, the Commissioner, on being informed of the vacancy, shall give instructions to the Chief Electoral Officer for the issue of a writ for the election of a Member to fill the vacancy.

Information about a by-election in the Monfwi constituency will be released by Elections NWT.

For more information, contact:
Public Affairs and Communications
Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly