Selection of members to the Executive Council by the 20th Legislative Assembly

YELLOWKNIFE, Thursday, December 7, 2023 – Members of the 20th Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly have chosen the six MLAs who, along with Premier Mr. R.J. Simpson, will form the Executive Council of the Northwest Territories. The Territorial Committee for Leadership Positions held the vote in the Assembly Chamber today.

Following their official swearing-in at 3 pm on Friday, December 8th, the following Ministers will join Premier-elect Mr. R.J. Simpson:

Lesa Semmler

Lucy Kuptana

Vince McKay

Jay MacDonald

Caitlin Cleveland

Caroline Wawzonek

The selection process for Members of the Executive Council followed the established practice of maintaining a regional balance by choosing two Ministers from northern ridings, two Ministers from southern ridings, and two Ministers from Yellowknife.

Formal motions to ratify the Executive Council appointments will be presented at the first sitting of the 20th Legislative Assembly, which begins at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, December 8, 2023. The Premier will make the allocation of portfolios at a later date.


For more information, please contact:

Public Affairs and Communications 

Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly