Process for the Territorial Leadership Committee confirmed

(Yellowknife) October 12, 2007 – Members-elect of the 16th Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories have confirmed the process to be used to elect the Speaker, Premier, and Executive Council during the Territorial Leadership Committee (TLC) meetings being held next week in Yellowknife. 

The Caucus of 19 Members-elect have agreed that the first order of business at 2:30 p.m. on Tuesday, October 16, 2007 will be the election of the Speaker. The process to be used is changed in that candidates for the Speaker’s position will have five minutes to deliver a speech to Members of the Assembly regarding their suitability for the role of Speaker. After the speeches have concluded, a secret ballot vote will be held, and the results released. Once the Speaker-elect has been chosen, he/she will Chair the Territorial Leadership Committee meeting. 

The TLC will re-convene on Wednesday, October 17 at 9:00 a.m. to elect the Premier from among the 18 remaining Members. Each candidate nominated for Premier will be given 20 minutes to deliver a speech and will answer a maximum of two questions from each Member. 

The Executive Council selection process will follow past practise whereby a total of six Ministers will be chosen. The regional balance of two Ministers from the northern constituencies, two from southern constituencies, and two from Yellowknife will be maintained. 

The public is invited to observe the Territorial Leadership Committee meetings, which will be held in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly building. Formal motions to ratify the TLC selections will be brought forward when the 16th Legislative Assembly convenes on Thursday, October 18, at 1:30 p.m. 

For further information contact: 

Tim Mercer, Clerk 
Legislative Assembly of the NWT 
P: 867-669-2299 or 1-800-661-0784 
Email: @email 

All Members-elect 
Legislative Assembly of the NWT 
P: 867-669-2200 or 1-800-661-0784