Integrity Commissioner Reappointed

YELLOWKNIFE (June 1, 2022) – The Legislative Assembly has recommended the reappointment of Mr. David Phillip Jones, Q.C., as Integrity Commissioner.

By way of a Motion in the House, Mr. Jones’ reappointment has been recommended to the Commissioner of the Northwest Territories, Mrs. Margaret Thom, pursuant to Section 91 of the Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act. The appointment takes effect June 2, 2022.

Mr. Jones has served eight years as the NWT’s Integrity Commissioner and was the successful candidate following a recruitment campaign in early 2022. He studied law as a Rhodes Scholar at Oxford University before working as a full-time law professor at McGill and the University of Alberta, subsequently moving to private practice in 1988. Mr. Jones has been the Yukon’s Conflict of Interest Commissioner since 2002, and has served as legal counsel for several Integrity, Ethics, and Conflict of Interest Commissioners in other jurisdictions.

The Integrity Commissioner (formerly called the Conflict of Interest Commissioner) is the independent officer of the Legislative Assembly who administers Part 3 of the Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act. The Commissioner provides advice to Members and Ministers about avoiding conflicts between their public duties and their private interests, as well as meeting their obligations under the Code of Conduct that establishes standards for the conduct of Members.

For further information, please contact:

Public Affairs and Communications

Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly